Film program

Filmstill, Man No Run, Claire Denis, Frankreich 1988

The exhibition's accompanying film program presents selected films from the extended African film context, which deal with Dante's motive of the voyage into the afterworld: a world underground, zones of perseverance, prisons and paradises of waiting, and the stories of men and women and their impossible love. Here, the real, un- or surreal relate to each other and mirror the challenges of postcolonial identities. 

Admission: 7 / 5 Euro
Ticket reservation at +49 069 961 220 220

Venue:
Deutsches Filmmuseum, Schaumainkai 41, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
www.deutsches-filmmuseum.de

A cooperation between MMK and the DIF Deutsches Filminstitut.The film program is curated by Marie-Hélène Gutberlet in cooperation with Abrie Fourie and Guy Wouete. 

Program Overview:

Tuesday, 6 May

Filmstill, Heremakono (Warten auf Glück), Abderrahmane Sissako, Mauretanien / Frankreich 2002

6 pm
MINE
(Short films)

Mine, William Kentridge, 1991, 5’50“, English Original
Gangster Backstage, Teboho Edkins, 2013, 37’43“  engl.,  Africaans, engl. subtitled
Playing guitar for goats, Jacques Coetzer, 2010, 2’09“
Projected Identities, Barend de Wet 2013, 3’37“
The Swing (after after Fragonard), Donna Kukama 2009, 4’54“

The word MINE in English means the ‘mining plant’ and is also possessive pronoun „mine“. It creates a relationship between the depths of mining and the idea of ownership. MINE is the video archive project’s name created by the artist and curator Abrie Fourie. Five videos by South African artists from this collection will be shown; they seek to dive behind the surface, to explore and comment on their history and position within post-apartheid landscapes.

Guest: Teboho Edkins

8 pm
Heremakono

(fiction)
Abderrahmane Sissako, Mauretanien / Frankreich 2002, 95', Original with subtitles

HEREMAKONO plays in Nouadhibou, a small town at the Mauritanian Atlantic coast. It is a place of transition, where one waits for happiness and see-saws between the desire to leave and to stay. The film finds precise and striking images for the moods of waiting, travelling, and hope. He received the international film critics awards in Cannes in 2002 and won the grand prize at the Fespaco Filmfestival in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) in 2003 

Tuesday, 13 May

6 pm    
Orfeu Negro / Black Orpheus

(fiction)
Marcel Camus, Brazil / France / Portugal 1959, 107' Original with subtitles

ORFEU NEGRO – one of the most striking French-Brazilian productions – transfers the antique myth of Orpheus and Eurydice into the present of the carnival of Rio de Janeiro. Most of the actors are Brazilian non-professionals, the leading part is played by the American-French actress Marpessa Dawn and the Brazilian football player Breno Mello. The film marked the international breakthrough of bossa nova. 

Tuesday, 20 May

6 pm
Sans Titre (Short films)


N12º13.062'/W001º32.619' Extended, Vincent Meesen, BE/BF, 2005, 8’30“
Reconstructing Damon Albarn in Kinshasa, Jeanne Faust, D, 2010, 10’, franz./engl./dt. mit engl. UT
Sans-Titre, Neïl Beloufa, F/ALG, 2010, 15’, algerisch/franz. engl UT
Atrophy, Palesa Shongwe, ZA 2009, 8’, engl. OF
NORA, Alla Kovgan, David Hinton, USA/ZI, 2009, 35’, engl. OF (feat. Zimbabwean dancer Nora Chipaumire)

The artist films from the archive of the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen gathered in this programme focus on surreal moments in real life, that is moments of rapture, of deferment and transgression, of pictorial dissolution and dance.

8.30 pm   
En attendant les hommes 
(documentary)

Katy Lena NDiaye, Mauretania / France 2007, 56' OmeU

The village Oualata is located in the Eastern part of the Mauritanian Sahara. Many men left for Europe. Their wives stayed, some of them wait for them since decades. They do all daily work by themselves. While waiting, they decorate their red clay houses with incredibly beautiful motives and speak very openly about their relationships and longing.

Octobr (fiction)
Aberrahmane Sissako, Mauretania / France / Russia 1993, 37', Original w. subtitles

In 1982, Abderrahmane Sissako went to Rostov to learn Russian and then moved to Moscow to study film. He belonged to the third generation of African filmmakers, who were trained in the Soviet Union, which at the time when he was making his final degree film, was already in dissolution. OCTOBR tells the story of a failing relationship between an African man and a Russian woman, it depicts life in the ‘zone’, that is the migrants’ no-mans-land, and catches moments of disillusionment and downtime in Moscow’s cold season. 

Tuesday, 27 May

Filmstill, Who Cares?, Guy Wouete, 2009

6 pm
Six Videos by Guy Wouete - The artist is present


Corridor, 2010, 10’44“, DVD (Malta), OmU
Who Cares?, 2009, 5’11“ DVD (Marrakesch, Marokko), OmU
Rite, 2008, 16’48“, DVD (Penja, Kamerun)  
L’imminent Tsunami, 2007, 4’53“ DVD (Bamako, Mali), OmU  
African Traffic, 4’34“ DVD (Cotonou, Bénin), OmU
Esperamos,  2009, 1’10“ (Havanna, Kuba)

‘My art does not belong to any geographic space nor does it cling to colours or genres. My art basically does not speak about pain and evil that cuts into the flesh and perverts the psyche. My art draws its energy from the delicate within the here and now. It explores the conflictive mind, this vital moment, in which the said and the unsaid (un)reasonably meet.’ (G.W.)

8.30 pm
Man No Run 
(documentary)

Claire Denis, Frankreich 1988, 90', OmU

Claire Denis' documentary accompanies the Cameroonian avant-garde band Les têtes brûlées during their tour through France in 1987. It focuses on the backstage life of the musicians and their encounter with the extraterrestrial French province. Then, at the very end of the film, the energy of their music discharges to atmosphere. 

Today at the MMK

  • Guided tour
  • English Guided Tour: Pashmina. Absolventen der Städelschule
  • 04:00 pm

Filmprogramm

Filmstill, Man No Run, Claire Denis, Frankreich 1988

Die Reihe präsentiert ausgewählte Filme aus dem erweiterten Feld der afrikanischen Filmproduktion. Zu sehen sind Filme, die Wahlverwandtschaften mit Dantes bildnerischer Dichtung eingehen. Das Motiv der Reise in die jenseitige Welt entlang mythologischer Spuren, Geschichten von Frauen und Männern und ihrer unmöglichen Liebe, die Welt unter Tage, die Zonen des Ausharrens, die Gefängnisse und Paradiese des Wartens und die Wirklichkeit der Elemente schlagen sich in den Filmen nieder, die real und irreal auf die Verhältnisse postkolonialer Identitäten blicken.

Eintritt: 7 / 5 Euro
Kartenreservierung: 069 961 220 220

Veranstaltungsort:
Deutsches Filmmuseum, Schaumainkai 41, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
www.deutsches-filmmuseum.de

Eine Kooperation des MMK mit dem DIF Deutsches Filminstitut.
Die Reihe wird kuratiert von Marie-Hélène Gutberlet mit Abrie Fourie und Guy Wouete .  

Programmübersicht:

Dienstag, 6. Mai

Filmstill, Heremakono (Warten auf Glück), Abderrahmane Sissako, Mauretanien / Frankreich 2002

18.00 Uhr
MINE (Kurzfilme)


Mine, William Kentridge, 1991, 5’50“, engl. OF  
Gangster Backstage, Teboho Edkins, 2013, 37’43“  engl.,  Africaans, engl.UT
Playing guitar for goats, Jacques Coetzer, 2010, 2’09“
Projected Identities, Barend de Wet 2013, 3’37“
The Swing (after after Fragonard), Donna Kukama 2009, 4’54“

Das Wort MINE, englisch "Grube" und besitzanzeigendes Pronomen "mein", setzt die Tiefen des Bergwerks mit der Idee des Besitzes in Verhältnis. MINE heißt das Video-Archiv-Projekt des Künstlers und Kurators Abrie Fourie, aus dessen Sammlung fünf Videos südafrikanischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler gezeigt werden. Diese haben sich zur Aufgabe gemacht unter die Oberfläche zu tauchen, ihre Geschichte und Position im Post-Apartheid-Kontext auszukundschaften und zu kommentieren.

Zu Gast: Teboho Edkins

20.30 Uhr
Heremakono Warten auf Glück (Spielfilm)
Abderrahmane Sissako, Mauretanien / Frankreich 2002, 95', OmU

HEREMAKONO spielt in Nouadhibou, einer Kleinstadt an der mauretanischen Atlantik-Küste gelegen. Es ist ein Ort des Übergangs, ein Ort, an dem man auf das Glück wartet und hin und her gerissen wird zwischen dem Wunsch zu gehen und dem zu bleiben. Für das Warten, das Reisen und das Hoffen findet der Film klare, wirkungsvolle Bilder. Er wurde 2002 mit dem Preis der internationalen Filmkritik in Cannes ausgezeichnet und erhielt 2003 den großen Preis als bester Film beim Filmfestival Fespaco in Ougadougou (Burkina Faso).  

Dienstag, 13. Mai

18.00 Uhr
Orfeu Negro / Schwarzer Orpheus
 (Spielfilm)

Marcel Camus, Brasilien / Frankreich / Portugal 1959, 107' OmU

ORFEU NEGRO – einer der bemerkenswertesten französisch-brasilianischen Filme – verlegt den antiken Mythos von Orpheus und Eurydike in die Gegenwart des Karnevals von Rio de Janeiro. Er ist überwiegend mit brasilianischen Laiendarstellern gedreht, in den Hauptrollen, die amerikanisch-französische Schauspielerin Marpessa Dawn und der brasilianische Fußballspieler Breno Mello. Der Film markierte den internationalen Durchbruch des Bossa Nova. 

Dienstag, 20. Mai

18.00 Uhr: Sans Titre 
(Kurzfilme)

N12º13.062'/W001º32.619' Extended, Vincent Meesen, BE/BF, 2005, 8’30“  
Reconstructing Damon Albarn in Kinshasa, Jeanne Faust, D, 2010, 10’, franz./engl./dt. mit engl. UT
Sans-Titre, Neïl Beloufa, F/ALG, 2010, 15’, algerisch/franz. engl UT
Atrophy, Palesa Shongwe, ZA 2009, 8’, engl. OF
NORA, Alla Kovgan, David Hinton, USA/ZI, 2009, 35’, engl. OF (feat. Zimbabwean dancer Nora Chipaumire)

Die in diesem Programm zusammengestellten Kunstfilme aus dem Archiv der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen konzentrieren sich auf jenseitige Momente im Realen, auf Situationen der Entrückung, der Verschiebung und der Transgression, der Bildauflösung und des Tanzes.

20.30 Uhr: En attendant les hommes 
(Dokumentarfilm)
Katy Lena NDiaye, Mauretanien / Frankreich 2007, 56' OmU

Im Osten der mauretanischen Sahara liegt das Dorf Oualata. Viele Männer brachen von hier nach Europa auf. Ihre Frauen blieben, manche warten seit Jahrzehnten. Sie verrichten alle alltäglichen Arbeiten alleine. Während sie warten, bemalen sie ihre roten Lehmhäuser mit wunderschönen Motiven und reden offen über ihre Beziehungen und Sehnsüchte.

Octobr (Spielfilm)
Aberrahmane Sissako, Mauretanien / Frankreich / Russland 1993, 37', OmU

Als Abderrahmane Sissako 1982 zum Sprachstudium nach Rostov und dann zum Filmstudium nach Moskau ging, gehörte er bereits zur dritten Generation afrikanischer Filmemacher, die in der Sowjetunion ausgebildet wurden. Als er dann in Moskau seinen Abschlussfilm drehte, war die Sowjetunion schon in Auflösung begriffen. OCTOBR erzählt von der scheiternden Liebe zwischen einem Afrikaner und einer Russin, vom Leben in der ‚Zone’, dem Niemandsland der Migranten, und fängt im Moskauer Winter Momente der Desillusionierung und des Stillstands ein.  

Dienstag, 27. Mai

Filmstill, Who Cares?, Guy Wouete, 2009

18.00 Uhr: Sechs Videos von Guy Wouete

Corridor, 2010, 10’44“, DVD (Malta), OmU
Who Cares?, 2009, 5’11“ DVD (Marrakesch, Marokko), OmU
Rite, 2008, 16’48“, DVD (Penja, Kamerun)  
L’imminent Tsunami, 2007, 4’53“ DVD (Bamako, Mali), OmU  
African Traffic, 4’34“ DVD (Cotonou, Bénin), OmU
Esperamos,  2009, 1’10“ (Havanna, Kuba)

„Meine Kunst beansprucht keinen geographischen Raum noch hängt sie an Farben oder Genres. Meine Kunst handelt im Kern auch nicht von den Schmerzen und den Übeln, die das Fleisch angreifen und den Geist pervertieren. Meine Kunst schöpft im Empfindlichen hier und jetzt; sie erforscht den konfliktbesetzten Verstand, den ‚entscheidenden Moment’, in dem sich Gesagtes und Ungesagtes (un)vernünftig treffen.“ (G.W.)

In Anwesenheit des Künstlers. 

20.30 Uhr: Man No Run (Dokumentarfilm)
Claire Denis, Frankreich 1988, 90', OmU

Claire Denis’ Film, der die kamerunische Avantgarde-Band „Les têtes brûlées“ bei ihrer Frankreich Tournee 1987 begleitet, konzentriert sich auf das Backstage-Leben der Musiker und deren Begegnung mit der außerirdischen französischen Provinz, bis sich erst ganz zu Schluss die Energie ihrer Musik ins Freie entlädt.  

Heute im MMK